7th Annual State Bar of Texas African American Lawyer Section

Summit & Awards Luncheon: AALS @ 30: A Lookback at the Legacy and the Law


Please join us for the 7th Annual State Bar of Texas African American Lawyers Section Summit & Awards Luncheon (SBOT AALS Summit & Awards) on Saturday, April 23, 2022, at the Texas A&M University School of Law, 1515 Commerce Street, Fort Worth, Texas 76102, from 8:00 am-3:30 pm.  A networking reception will take place immediately following the close of the summit (4:00 pm-6:00 pm).



The SBOT AALS Summit & Awards is a premier professional development and networking event, with CLE modules (6 hours of MCLE credit, including 1 hour of ethics) and presentations designed for a variety of practitioners in diverse practice areas, with a particular focus on issues relevant to the African-American community.


Through the AALS Awards, the AALS Summit also provides a special opportunity for the State Bar of Texas and the African American Lawyers Section to honor those who have distinguished themselves in the profession through trailblazing efforts, outstanding achievement, or judicial service.  This year’s theme is “AALS @ 30:  A Lookback at the Legacy and the Law”. We will offer six hours of MCLE courses and during our luncheon, we will celebrate our 30-year history by awarding our inaugural chair, Representative Sheila Jackson Lee (92’) with a Legacy Award.  Additionally, we will recognize Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson with the Outstanding Achievement Award, Rudy Metayer with the Trailblazer Award, and both Judge Lora Livingston and Judge Brenda Kennedy with the Distinguished Jurist Award. 


The SBOT AALS Summit & Awards also provides excellent networking opportunities for attorneys, judges, corporate counsel, and community representatives. 


Please spread the word, mark your calendar, and register today on the African American Lawyers section website or directly through this Registration link.


We look forward to seeing you at the AALS Summit & Awards Luncheon on April 23, 2022.